Living in the moment and coconut oats cookies

Image

I’ve been having a really hard time lately dealing with life, it all started last year when my grandmother died suddenly of cancer, within a month of finding out about it.  It broke my heart, because she lives far away from us and I didn’t visit her in years thinking I still had lots of time with her.  Soon after her passing my dad drove over my dog that I grew up with by mistake.  After that my dad got me a puppy and he died a couple months after that, I actually started feeling like I had some bad energy around me that just wanted to kill things 😦 but a close friend of mine helped me through this horrible time with great words of wisdom (bad things always happens in one go and then afterwards its all downhill), and I thought she was right and for a couple of months things went well and almost in the beginning of the year I had a bombshell that nearly broke me, but i was able to get through it stronger then ever.

A couple of weeks ago a friend of mine decided to take his own life, it was a horrible feeling finding out about it, we haven’t been in contact for about a year and it made me feel slightly guilty that I didn’t know he was having such troubles in his life, but after some soul searching I have realized he’s made me want to live in the moment, to not worry about silly things, to take risks, to see friends and family NOW rather than later.  I’m grateful for the time I spent with him and every moment in life is precious and you don’t know whats going to happen tomorrow everyday is a mystery.

Well one thing I’m really grateful for are these tasty little cookies, they are sugar free and just o so YUMMY. Feel free to add raisins or nuts to it, my love bunny doesn’t like “THINGS” in his cookies so these were specially for him. 

COCONUT AND OATS COOKIES

makes about 15 large cookies

Image

INGREDIENTS

* 1 Cup whole wheat flour

* 1 1/2 cups Rolled oats

*  1/2 cup coconut flakes

*1/2 tsp baking soda

* 1/2 tsp baking powder

* 1/2 tsp salt

* 1 heaped tbsp cinnamon 

* 1/2 cup agave nectar ( or any other liquid sweetener of choice)

* 1/2 cup oil ( I used half oil half applesauce)

* 1 Tbsp molasses

* 2 flax seed eggs or energy egg replacer

* 1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions

Mix all of the dry ingredients together till well combined, then add agave nectar, oil, molasses, flax egg and vanilla mix till well combined.  After this I chilled the dough in the fridge ( it made it easier to handle) for 30 min.

While your dough is in the fridge preheat your oven at 180, grease a baking sheet and when your dough is ready to be used, make about a tbsp dough balls and place on the baking sheet ( they don’t spread much so don’t worry about placing them to close) when your baking sheet is full, flatten your balls with a fork.

Bake for 15-20 min till they start to brown, remove from oven and let chill.

Image

These little babies lasted about a day in our house, hope you guys like them.

Leave a Reply

