Snacking

I love snacking through out the day, instead of having a big lunch i snack ^^.  I use to be really really bad back in the day ( that’s also a reason why I was so chubby), I would eat crisps, cupcakes, muffins and chocolates even when I wasn’t hungry, it would just be something to do :/ but after I pulled myself together and decided to eat healthier to improve my well being ( I got over being sick all the time and not even being able to go up a hill without taking a hundred breaks) and decided to snack healthier and eat whole foods and only eat when I’m hungry and stop when I’m full.  

 

So here you have it a couple of my favorite things to snack on 🙂 

 

1) FRUIT

Image

I love eating fruit during the day it makes me feel energized and light, I try to eat seasonally so I get whatever is in season and didn’t have to travel far ( I usually shop at farmers markets).  

 

The only problem with having fruit on hand here is…………MONKEYS!!! we have a troop at our house that just hangs around the entire day, sometimes they even hide and the second I open the door to let a little fresh air in they run in and grab all my fruit 😦 its really upsetting and they aren’t very friendly ( you can’t shoo them away they just try to attack me) , they have even come into my bathroom window and took my toothpaste, they might be cute, but damn do they drive me crazy.

Image

2) POPCORN

Image

I can live off popcorn,I love it so much. I don’t like anything fancy on it just a little herb salt and that’s it!!!

The only negative thing about this is, I do NOT have self control when it comes to popcorn and I’m very greedy and don’t want to share.

 

3) WHOLEWHEAT AND SUGAR FREE MUFFINS

Image

I love muffins and I love baking so I really enjoy having muffins on hand, I especially love sugar and oil free lemon chia seed muffins, these are perfect to have with a cup of tea and they have a really nice consistency and taste amazing toasted, and the other one is wholewheat sugar free blueberry and raspberry muffins, these never last long and the blueberry and raspberry make these muffins so pretty.

Image

4) COOKIES

Image

I was never a big fan of cookies, but I love baking them and now i love eating them.  I also don’t believe in buying cookies, because I don’t like all the packaging they come in and I DO NOT like the endless ingredients list! My favorite cookies are, brownie cookies adapted from my grandmother recipe made vegan and made healthier, oats coconut cookies and peanut butter snap cookies, I’m slightly obsessed with peanut butter so this is always a winner!

 

5) ROASTED SUNFLOWER SEEDS!!!!

Image

This is my favorite thing in the world to eat!!!!!!  If you haven’t made your own roasted sunflower seeds before, then your in for a treat!!!! I always dry roast these without any oil and I’ve made them in the oven and on the stove top before.  I prefer making them on the stove top with a non stick pan because it doesnt take long and you don’t have to pre heat the oven, all you do is you heat a pan on high, place as much sunflower seeds as desired and you just let them go slightly brown and then toss. 

I usually add a little bit of herbal salt to them and then eat them while they are still hot. mmmmm

 

I hope you enjoyed my favorite snacks 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

