Grapefruit cookies

This week was pretty amazing I got a lot of cycling and running in and I saw snow for the first time! It was so powdery and amazing! It would have been way better if I wore the right kind of shoes :/ I decided to wear ballet flats and it felt like I was going to get frostbite!

Image

 

Image

 

 

I’ve been making lots of simple meals lately so no major recipes to share, but I do have the most amazing cookie recipe ever.  I had a grapefruit sitting in my fruit bowl just asking to be eaten, but it was the only thing left so I just couldn’t eat it I had to make something wonderful with the last thing left in my bowl!

 

This cookies is o so good its so good in fact that I only had one and the rest was gone within a day! they aren’t the healthiest of cookies, but hey sometimes you just need a little guilty pleasure and I believe everything in moderation is fine!

 

GRAPEFRUIT COOKIES – 14- 16 cookies

Image

*  2 1/2 cups of flour ( any flour will do, I used orgran gluten free flour)

* 2 tsp baking powder

* 1/4 tsp salt 

* 3/4 cup vegan margarine 

* 3/4 cup sugar 

* Zest of half a grapefruit ( seems like a lot, but this makes the cookies so good)

* 2 flax seed eggs ( or orgran no egg)

* 1/2 tsp vanilla

*  2-3 tbsp grapefruit juice 

 

DIRECTIONS

 

Preheat oven to 375.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl cream margarine and sugar together till combined and fluffy. Next add the grapefruit zest, vanilla, flax seed eggs and grapefruit juice , stir until its all mixed in.  In a separate bowl mix the flour, salt and baking powder together.     

Slowly add the flour in with the margarine mix and continue mixing till well combined.  The dough should look like play dough, if its to wet add a little more flour.  

Shape into balls and press flat to make a little disk, these cookies don’t spread to much so they don’t need to be placed to far a part.  Bake for 9- 12 minutes or till firm.  Leave them to cool on the pan for about a minute before removing them from pan.

Have a lovely Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

