Creamy, cheezy leek and spinach pasta sauce

Every vegan has a cheeze sauce they love, but most of them require nutritional yeast, its hard to find nutritional yeast here and when you do its really expensive, so that’s why I made this little recipe its made from grated soy cheese instead of nutritional yeast.  I love this recipe, because its really easy and very creamy, grating in the non dairy cheese gives it a nice cheesy taste, this is a recipe for anyone that doesn’t like nutritional yeast in their sauce.

When choosing a vegan cheese, try and use one that has a lot of flavor, mozzarella wont work for this recipe.  I used sheese Edam flavor it was the right amount of cheesy flavor for me, but if you really want to crank it up use a cheddar style cheese.  

Image

 

For added nutritional value I add in leeks and spinach for a nice healthy kick!

 

CREAMY, CHEEZY LEEKS AND SPINACH PASTA SAUCE – serves 4

Image

Ingredients

  • pasta 
  • 1 large leek, sliced
  • 1 cup baby spinach, chopped

Cheese sauce

  • 3 Tbsp Flour
  • 3 Tbsp margarine
  • 3 cups non dairy milk
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated soy cheese ( or more to taste, I grate the cheese on the small grater side, so its easier to melt)
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

On medium heat melt the margarine in a saucepan.  Stir in the flour and continue to cook and stir for 2 minutes or until sandy brown.  

Slowly add the milk and continue whisking until smooth.  Gradually start adding the cheese and continue whisking until melted into the sauce.  Next stir in the mustard, garlic powder and lemon juice.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.    Stir in the leeks and simmer on low for 2 minutes.  Next add the spinach and stir through until wilted.  Serve immediately.

Image

PS.

On my run this morning I found one of my favorite flowers, on the side of the road.  During Christmas time these flowers are EVERYWHERE!  They smell like honey and just perks up  a room.  I ended up running with a yellow flower, I probably looked foolish, but hey you only live once 🙂 Now I can look at it all the time 🙂

Image

Have a lovely weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Creamy, cheezy leek and spinach pasta sauce

  1. Mandee says:

    That dish of pasta looks delicious and I’m not a big fan of nooch so I like finding recipes that use vegan cheese instead.

    I love that you picked the flower and ran along with it, I bet you put a smile on someone’s face as you ran by 🙂

Leave a Reply

