Vegan cold remedies

Image

The time of year is approaching when I get horrible sick.  I don’t know what it is about December time, but every year I get the most insane cold that leads straight to bronchitis.  Maybe its the hot and humid weather or maybe its my body saying, you’re not going to have a nice Christmas!  

This year I haven’t been sick as much as usually and when I did get sick I tried out some natural remedies.  I noticed that I was only sick for a 1-2 days ( I used to be sick for weeks) and it never went to bronchitis, all I can say is December cold, I’m ready for you!

 

COLD REMEDIES

First stage  – tickle in the throat or the I’m feeling off stage

Image

Hot curry – A friend of mine gave me this remedy and it sure makes you sweat.  It does help for the beginning of a cold, just make sure its a really hot curry and have your tissues on hand. You will basically sweat your cold away.

Image

Wheat grass  – This nutrient-rich grass contains 17 amino acids which are the building blocks of proteins.  These minerals include calcium, phosphorus, iron, magnesium and potassium. It is a rich natural source of vitamins A and C.  Wheat grass has more vitamin C than oranges and twice the vitamin A of carrots. It is exceptionally rich in vitamins E, K, and B-complex.  So when you feel a cold coming on go get yourself a shot of wheat grass.

Image

Ginger tea – I’m slightly addicted to tea so I don’t just wait to get a cold to drink this.  Ginger tea is easy to make and incredibly soothing.  Ginger has been used for centuries around the world to treat numerous ailments, Some say it can help cure diabetes, head aches, colds, fatigue, nausea and the flu when used in tea and food. 

Its official I’m sick stage 

Image

Miso soup –  There is nothing better than a soup when you are feeling miserable and miso soup is so easy to make. Try my miso soup recipe here or better yet get someone to make this soup for you.  

Miso has been a staple in Chinese and Japanese diets dating back approximately 2,500 years.  Miso is known for its numerous health benefits and to strengthen the immune system.  

Image
Water – Try to drink at least 8 glasses of water to flush the virus out of your system, drinking lots of fluids increases your body’s ability to fight the virus.

Image

Rest – This is the hardest thing for most of us to do, but getting enough rest and giving your body all the strength to fight the virus is key to get over a cold.

Image

Ginger tea – Mentioned above, but this is something that incredibly soothing when you have a cold.  Ginger tea recipe.

Image

Steam – I hate feeling all clogged up, but inhaling steam eases the congestion in minutes.  Hold your head over a pot of boiling water and breathe through your nose. 

Well there you have it my top tips for a cold, hope this helps anyone coming down with a cold. 🙂

Image

One thought on “Vegan cold remedies

Leave a Reply

